Patient Reviews

If you want to change the way your smile looks and improve your oral health with procedures that are personalized to meet your needs, you've found the right place! Our highly trained dentists at Sycamore Family Dentistry are thrilled to treat patients throughout Midlothian, VA with a host of dental concerns and cosmetic goals. Throughout the years, we have had the pleasure of getting numerous reviews from patients of all sorts who have experienced our attentive care themselves. We encourage you to look over our large selection of testimonials and realize the beautiful smile you could attain when you choose us for your dental treatments.

Reviews for Midlothian, VA General Dentistry Dr. Jacob Sheppard

5.0 Review from G.H. Source: Google May 01 2024

"From the moment you call the office to the moment you see Dr. Sheppard, you realize that one thing is most important and that is you. Dr. Sheppard and his entire staff truly want your visit to be comfortable, like you are visiting a friend, not a practice. Everyone is so friendly, welcoming, respectful and have a common interest in making sure you are cared for and appreciated as a patient, not just a number. If you are one that gets a bit anxious and puts off dental care, STOP RIGHT NOW, NO MATTER WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND CALL THE OFFICE. I assure you that you will be glad to meet such wonderful people and you will leave with a smile!! Whether it is routine dental work, or an emergency They have you covered. They made me feel so comfortable that I almost fell asleep during a root canal. Do yourself a favor and stop being just another patient and become one of their family. Many thanks to Dr. Sheppard and his entire staff. Glenn Update for May 1 2024 Again, I can’t say enough good about Dr. Sheppard and his team. They are so glad to see you and truly appreciate you as a patient, only thing is that you don’t feel like a patient you feel like part of the family. So as I have said before, stop procrastinating and call them today and see for yourself."

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Mar 28 2024

"We love Sycamore Family Dentistry! The staff is helpful and kind! It is a small town feel and they feel like family."

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Mar 27 2024

"Great Great office and the staff is the very best. Most of us fear the dentist but this staff will take great care of you"

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Mar 20 2024

"Dr Sheppard’s staff is friendly and efficient. I would recommend this staff to anyone needing dental assistance"

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Mar 12 2024

"Great staff Great Dentist"

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google Mar 12 2024

"Dr Sheppard and his wonderful team are top notch. Not only are they exemplary in professionalism but their friendliness and positivity make going to the dentist a relaxed and comfortable experience."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Mar 08 2024

"I love these folks. I always have a positive experience!"

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Mar 08 2024

"I’ve been a patient of Dr. Shelton for years. He and his staff “are the best”"

5.0 Review from M.O. Source: Google Mar 05 2024

"I have been a client/patient of Sycamore Family Dentistry for over a decade. Dr Shepherd took over the practice a couple years back and I remain a loyal and happy client. The entire staff is exceptional- always friendly, always smile (even when I am late to my appointment) and always happy to see me. Dr Shepherd is very approachable and direct with his communication. He quickly put me at ease when he first took over the practice. I have every confidence that he and his staff have my best interests in mind when I am there and trust them. I have recommended them (its not just the Dentist that makes a great practice) to friends and family, will continue to do so, and look forward to future visits. "

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google Feb 29 2024

"Professional, knowledgeable and personable staff. Great place to have all of your dental needs addressed."

5.0 Review from B.N. Source: Google Feb 28 2024

"My experiences with this practice have always been excellent. I've been a patient since the practice began many years ago with Dr. Leary. Dr. Sheppard has continued giving excellent care with up to date techniques and technologies. I highly recommend Sycamore Family Practice."

5.0 Review from T.P. Source: Google Feb 23 2024

"The staff is always friendly, personable, on time and up to date with all my history and they keep up with my care. Highly recommended!"

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google Feb 21 2024

"Love the staff, they interact like “Old Friends “. Quality dental work."

5.0 Review from H.H. Source: Google Feb 16 2024

"Very nice staff I love seeing them!"

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Feb 15 2024

"Needed dental work done everyone was so nice. Everything was explained before the procedure. The doctor pulled my root tips in record time. The whole place was immaculate and stylish. Can’t say enough good things about this dentist."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Feb 13 2024

"Dentist - top notch Hygienists - excellent Office staff - patient and personable"

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Excellent staff to work with from billing and customer service."

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google Jan 25 2024

"Hygienist visit today. Office is efficient and on time"

5.0 Review from G.H. Source: Google Dec 12 2023

"From the moment you call the office to the moment you see Dr. Sheppard, you realize that one thing is most important and that is you. Dr. Sheppard and his entire staff truly want your visit to be comfortable, like you are visiting a friend, not a practice. Everyone is so friendly, welcoming, respectful and have a common interest in making sure you are cared for and appreciated as a patient, not just a number. If you are one that gets a bit anxious and puts off dental care, STOP RIGHT NOW, NO MATTER WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND CALL THE OFFICE. I assure you that you will be glad to meet such wonderful people and you will leave with a smile!! Whether it is routine dental work, or an emergency They have you covered. They made me feel so comfortable that I almost fell asleep during a root canal. Do yourself a favor and stop being just another patient and become one of their family. Many thanks to Dr. Sheppard and his entire staff. Glenn"

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Nov 14 2023

"I’ve been a long time patient with Sycamore Family Dentistry, and there’s more than one reason for that. The staff have always been incredibly welcoming, personable, and helpful to anyone who come through their door. I have always felt comfortable and taken care of, every single visit, and it’s enough to know that I am always in the best hands with Dr. Sheppard, Dr. Madalena, and their wonderful staff! Anytime I have a friend who asks for a recommendation, I will always bring up Sycamore Family Dentistry, because I know they will always provide the same above-and-beyond excellent care to anyone, as they have for me. Thanks so much Sycamore Fam, for all you do!"

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Healthgrades Nov 07 2023

"I have been going to Sycamore Dentistry for many years. I have always been treated with the upmost professionalism. There have been times when I had a medical issue that I felt I needed immediate attention and I was always accommodated. Doctor Sheppard is always willing to discuss any concerns I have regarding my dental health. I would highly recommend him to anyone. "

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Healthgrades Nov 07 2023

"The best choice for all your dental needs. - I have been going to Sycamore Dentistry for many years. I have always been treated with the upmost professionalism. There have been times when I had a medical issue that I felt I needed immediate attention and I was always accommodated. Doctor Sheppard is always willing to discuss any concerns I have regarding my dental health. I would highly recommend him to anyone. "

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Nov 02 2023

"I’ve known Dr. Sheppard a number of years & he is an excellent, kind & experienced dentist. I would highly recommend him & his caring staff to anyone!!!"

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Oct 31 2023

"Been going here for 5 years Dr Sheppard is Soo accommodating."

5.0 Review from K.R. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"Dr.Sheppard, Dr.Madalena, and the staff are amazing to work with !! They are really friendly and just an overall wonderful environment!! I highly recommend them to EVERYONE!"

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"I had some dental anxiety and hadn't visited a dentist in more time than I'm willing to admit. I finally made an appointment after some nudging from my wife and I couldn't be happier that I did. Dr. Sheppard and the dental hygienist, Cindy were both nothing but professional, caring, compassionate, and non-judgmental. They gave me a ton of great advice for dental care and also gave me some options for some cosmetic improvements to my teeth. I have a bit of work to get done, so I have to go back, but I can honestly say I'm looking forward to going back and getting the work done. My teeth already look noticeably better after the thorough cleaning done by Cindy, and I didn't experience any pain during the cleaning. To anyone putting off going to the dentist or anyone looking for a dentist in general, I cant recommend Dr. Sheppard and his staff enough, they will take care of you."

5.0 Review from E. Source: Google Oct 25 2023

"Everyone at sycamore dentistry is amazing. Always on a first name basis, im relatively late but it’s no worries. Small business but very knowledgeable. Thank you for really good people. Doctor Madalena and Sheppard are amazing :). Front desk and friends are so welcoming. I recommend and am so grateful they’re down the street from my home."

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google Oct 24 2023

"Dr. Sheppard is a wonderful dentist. He has up to date treatments and does not pressure you to do unnecessary procedures. The office staff is friendly and patient. The office is conveniently located in Midlothian."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Oct 24 2023

"Dr Sheppard is great. Great with kids and the whole family! Been going to this practice for years."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Oct 16 2023

"I’m grateful for Dr. Sheppard & his staff! I reached out to Dr. Sheppard on a weekend when my tooth shattered. He called me right back and got me in the next day to take a look. He did an incredible job on my dental implant, completely restoring my smile! The staff is so friendly & has always been wonderful at giving me breaks throughout my appointment! Go see them! ☺️"

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google May 13 2023

"Overall staff was wonderfully and exceeded my expectations!!! I am happy to have gone to them! Dr. Sheppard is the best!"

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Everyone is always friendly and very personable. Julie and Cindy are like friends when I come. My first visit with Dr. Madalena was pleasant and she was reassuring regarding my concern with my teeth. Dr. Jacob in past visit also was easy to talk to. All staff make the appointment pleasant."

5.0 Review from F.M. Source: Google Feb 14 2023

"Dr. Sheppard and his staff were friendly, informative and kind. I would recommend this practice to anyone who may have reluctance about going to the dentist. They will put you at ease and make you feel confident in the care you are receiving."

5.0 Review from K.R. Source: Facebook Jul 13 2022

"Dr Sheppard and his staff are incredibly welcoming. My husband and I have been seeing Dr Sheppard for a couple years now and each visit has been pleasant. Never had a bad experience. Each staff member is patient, friendly and very informative. Definitely recommend."

5.0 Review from F.Q. Source: Facebook Mar 10 2022

"Very professional, techs and Doctor Sheppard were very receptive, the feel of a small family like environment. Nice building and friendly atmosphere."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Facebook Aug 12 2021

"Dr. Sheppard and his team do a great job!"

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Facebook May 18 2021

"Amazing staff. Sara the hygienist is amazing, fast, and thorough. Dr. Sheppard is very kind and informative. Overall great practice!"

5.0 Review from W.S. Source: Facebook May 04 2021

"This is by far one of the best dentist I have ever been too. I was having issues with a lower back tooth for at least a couple years. I bought up the issue with my then dentist. They took X-rays and said it was fine. But I still was experiencing sensitivity to cold and if I bit down on food just right it would hurt. I decided to go to another dentist. I saw Dr Sheppards reviews and decided to make an appointment with Hopewell Family Dentistry. I was super impressed first visit because he diagnosed my tooth problem immediately. I had a crack in that tooth. He showed me a picture of it even. Also, Dr Sheppard and his staff take great care with their patients. They are friendly and you never have to wait long at all. I would highly recommend this practice to anyone."

5.0 Review from T.W. Source: Facebook Dec 03 2020

"I took my 9 y/o daughter in yesterday to HFD as a new patient and it was the best experience at the dentist that she's ever had. They made her feel so comfortable and it was the first time that she wasn't nervous. The staff is so friendly and Dr. Sheppard is just awesome! I was referred here by a friend that takes her kids here and I will refer this place to anyone in need of a dental office. HFD treats you like family and I'm so glad that my daughter loves it so much!"

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Facebook Dec 01 2020

"You are treated like family at HFD. Dr Sheppard has a nice, calm spirit and his staff is very kind. You don’t mind going to the dentist when you’re treated well. I have not had any payment issues at all. I highly recommend HFD."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Facebook Jun 30 2020

"The staff and Dr Sheppard are the best. I've been going there for years and it has had several people take over since Dr. Leftwich passed away. I wouldn't go anywhere except Hopewell Family Dentistry."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Facebook Jun 29 2020

"The staff and Dr Sheppard are the best. I've been going there for years and it has had several people take over since Dr. Leftwich passed away. I wouldn't go anywhere except Hopewell Family Dentistry."

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Facebook Dec 11 2018

"Dr. Sheppard is an awesome dentist. I'm normally beyond scared but he tries to make you comfortable and distract you! He is gentle, which is great! No one wants someone roughly tugging on their mouth! I was in pain and he got me right in!"

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Facebook Nov 20 2018

"The care I received from the beginning to the end was fabulous. I can't say enough about Shelby! Shelby showed professionalism along with a caring attitude giving me the confidence to proceed with my dental work. The knowledge that Dr. Sheppard brought to the issues was excellent. I have a particular small mouth and he completed my work quickly and tenderly as he could for my particular situation. I appreciated the follow up call that was done the day after my dental work. I thank you team for making my experience as pleasant as possible."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Facebook Nov 20 2018

"The care I received from the beginning to the end was fabulous. I can't say enough about Shelby! Shelby showed professionalism along with a caring attitude giving me the confidence to proceed with my dental work. The knowledge that Dr. Sheppard brought to the issues was excellent. I have a particular small mouth and he completed my work quickly and tenderly as he could for my particular situation. I appreciated the follow up call that was done the day after my dental work. I thank you team for making my experience as pleasant as possible."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Facebook Nov 20 2018

"The care I received from the beginning to the end was fabulous. I can't say enough about Shelby! Shelby showed professionalism along with a caring attitude giving me the confidence to proceed with my dental work. The knowledge that Dr. Sheppard brought to the issues was excellent. I have a particular small mouth and he completed my work quickly and tenderly as he could for my particular situation. I appreciated the follow up call that was done the day after my dental work.… See more"

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Facebook Oct 17 2018

"Moving back to the area a few months past, I was enjoying lunch with an old friend. CRACKED one of my caps. I heard about Dr. Sheppard. You must read his bio. He is an interesting and determined man. I found the staff to be knowledgeable and professional. A friendly atmosphere greets you. Each time I went, I was pleasantly surprised to find they called my name before I had a chance to "crack" my book. Thanks for the 'smile'....... Balette Whatley Davis"

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Facebook Oct 17 2018

"Moving back to the area a few months past, I was enjoying lunch with an old friend. CRACKED one of my caps. I heard about Dr. Sheppard. You must read his bio. He is an interesting and determined man. I found the staff to be knowledgeable and professional. A friendly atmosphere greets you. Each time I went, I was pleasantly surprised to find they called my name before I had a chance to "crack" my book. Thanks for the 'smile'.......Balette Whatley Davis"

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Facebook Oct 17 2018

"Moving back to the area a few months past, I was enjoying lunch with an old friend. CRACKED one of my caps. I heard about Dr. Sheppard. You must read his bio. He is an interesting and determined man. I found the staff to be knowledgeable and professional. A friendly atmosphere greets you. Each time I went, I was pleasantly surprised to find they called my name before I had a chance to "crack" my book. … See more"

5.0 Review from E.I. Source: Facebook Jul 05 2018

"From entering the office til exiting, all are pleasant, courteous, respectful. I am so happy Dr. Sheppard took over this Office. It makes me feel as good as when It was run by Dr. Leftwich. Love these people. The care is exceptional."

5.0 Review from G.E. Source: Facebook Jun 19 2018

"Dr. Sheppard made my dentures back in November 2017. I have been very pleased with them. I would definitely recommend this practice, they are very friendly & professional."
*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.